Two Weeks with Our Gabe

The first two weeks with our little guy has been so wonderful! Elsie has absolutely loved every minute of having a brother, a little too much at times maybe 😉

We came home on Sunday afternoon, after a brief worry that Gabe had jaundice. It was nice to come home to my mom and Elsie and this new house! I also couldn’t believe how great I felt coming home from the hospital compared to last time. The labor and recovery has been infinitely better this time, thank the Lord.

Watched Elsie shower her brother with love has been so darling. She sings to him Edelweiss and ABC’s and likes to kiss his head. She makes a high squeel when she gets close to him and also has the quote “SO SO SO TINY!” stuck in all of our heads. When we wake her up in the morning she says “Where’d baby Gabe go?!” and is always eager to run into mommy and daddys room to hold him/”HOLD IT!”.

Unfortunately, I wish I could write about the wonderful state of world during Gabe’s first month alive… but it is a bit scary out there. Trump was elected and started his presidency days after his birth and ever since our hearts have been in turmoil for the awful decisions he has already implemented in this country. We are worried about muslims and the syrian refugees and all the people stuck at airports who were so close to a new life and a new hope.

I’ve also felt all kinds of emotions, as normal and typical as they are, it has been a ride so far. Philip asked me yesterday how my heart was and I honestly replied, so very happy. I am happy! Philip has been home and has helped immensely with the kids, especially Elsie. I think I’ve ran the dishwasher 3 times in the month we’ve lived here and I rarely hand wash a dish before the sink is once again clean. Elsie’s been very sensitive to us, especially if we discipline her for something she wasn’t quite sure was a wrong action (we usually know this by her quick reaction and sad heart). I have felt immensely split between my two babies and do miss my time with Elsie being 1:1 all the time. My prayer is that I can love them with one breathe, becuase right now I feel like my love goes in two different directions and it’s either toward Gabe or Elsie. Giving them equal love and shared love is my hope, and bigger than that I hope that their love is tripled with the love of Philip, myself and each other.

My sleep is starting to wear me a little thin. Gabe gives me a 3 hours chunk at night followed by two, two hour chunks. The broken sleep is wearing and Philip and I both have sharper tongues as of this week, but we will keep working on it.

I love being a mom. I love having a new baby to cuddle and laugh at and nurse back into a milky haze. It is truly my life’s best work, these babies of ours. I’ve never been more proud to say I have two of the most miraculous beings under my roof. How I ended up in this life of mine, I will never know. The Lord has given me great gifts, I hope I can be awake enough to enjoy the minutes and moments of greatness.

Leave a comment